Home > anime, Entertainment, News > Death Note USA Movie 2014

Death Note USA Movie 2014

Hey Everyone

Unfortunately the dreaded Hollywood film by Warner Bros has finally been confirmed to be in the making. The cast hasn’t been fully confirmed as of now, but speculations say that Zac Efron will play the role of Light, and Johnny Depp will play the role of L.

However putting that aside, the chances of this movie being a complete and utter flop is massively high. This is from years of experience of viewing other anime and manga being transformed into live action films. A recent example was that of Dragon ball Evolution, which in my opinion and many others was a terrible film.

But hope is not entirely lost, unlike most anime Death Note focuses mainly on a somewhat realistic, and relateable lifestyle, as all characters, bar the Shingami Ryuk are human, and no one except the death note users possess inhuman qualities or powers. Finally the original Death Note focuses on morals and a twisting plot which keeps everyone guessing on what will happen next.

Therefore if the producers can somehow stick to those main qualities, and not alter the story too much, this film will be successful not only with the fans of the series, but also on a global consumer audience. Here is a link that confirms the date of Death Note in 2014 from the site IMDb.

Overall I am looking forward to this movie and how it pans out, but in reality there is pretty much less than 5% chance of the film being done properly after all the modifications done to the script, as well as choosing the right characters for the job.
Frizna

*edited 30/3/13 to fix up my terrible grammer
*It appears the release date from the link I posted has been removed because of this, 2014 as a release date is questionable. (18/2/14)

  1. March 7, 2012 at 4:13 am

    I’m not expecting much either. I really hope I’m wrong (especially since they cast Depp), but I’m going to expect the worst and if it turns out to be good, then it will be a nice surprise for me. x3

  2. Isis
    March 8, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    if america does this its going to Suck leave it alone the japanese have made 2 perfect death nothe moves with 1 sequeal featuring L and Near. So.. Nooooooooo

    • lueva Iyaki
      August 5, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      Three movies that are twisted around, leave the deaths that were important to the manga and anime out of it completely and causing a third to be made based on genocide. Near and L were only connected through the house they grew up in as well as the fact of them leaving out Mello and another shinigami that Light’s father dying. Plain unexceptionable excuse of wanting more profit.

  3. Savannah
    May 11, 2012 at 8:54 am

    It is true that death note has a high probability of failing, but it also has a high chance of many fans of the series seeing the movie. If the producers or whoever is in charge realizes this and actually tries, rather than throwing together a crappy film just to lure in the anime fans, Death Note could have alot of potential.

  4. May 18, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    Personally, I see the movie doing well. It did well in Japan and it’s basically just Law&Order with a twist, so I don’t see how they could possibly screw that up unless they stray too far from the original storyline.
    As Zac Efron playing Light, that rumor has been circulating for years, and my guess is that it’s wrong, and the movie-makers are going to try and surprise viewers by picking an actor — not necessarily unknown, though that is a possibility — that is not Efron, despite his resemblance of the main character.
    The idea of Johnny Depp playing L is an interesting one. My only problem is that he’s much too old for the role, but I suppose they’ve worked wonders with movie make-up before, especially in Depp’s case — IE Charlie & The Chocolate Factory when he played Willy Wonka — so I suppose they can do it again.
    I’m more interested in seeing how they act out all the deaths and such to be quite honest, seeing as how they portray Ryuk and the other shinigamis — I read online that they were planning on leaving him out of the movie in an older script, which would have been stupid seeing as it would have presented the movie with an ENORMOUS plot hole — is rather obvious, especially in this day and age: CGI animation. Hopefully, it’ll turn out better than it did in the Japanese version of the movie because, while I have heard that the movie itself is very good, the images I’ve Ryuk portrayed in the film look god-awful.

    • June 18, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      I think as long as the directors stay as close to the original story as possible it will be a hit.

  5. Nasersensi
    May 19, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Hello,,,

    If johnny and zac in the movie, it will be a good one.

    • June 18, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      Hmm I really don’t know if that will be the case, if you look at previous USA adaptations, such as dragon ball evolution, it easily has the potential to flop.

  6. Lisawesome
    July 3, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    The director says he has read the entire manga series many times so I will put my trust in him for now. :) As longs as it doesn’t end up like The Last Airbender movie then I’m cool with anything…. actually I would like a really epic movie…

  7. Rue Ryuzaki
    July 26, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    honestly this movie has been in production for how long? compared to other movies that declared there intent and finished it in the same year! i think this one out of all the anime movies from america has the highest probibility of suceeding. a long movie with lots of details is desireable! ie lord of the rings style but with the plot in the correct order. :3 i can only hope and wait.

    • Rue Ryuzaki
      July 26, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      plus Black(the producer) is fighting strongly against Warner Bros. against any plot changes! can you believe WB wanted to remove the shinigami and make a back story of several deaths of friends being the reason why Light kills criminals…depressing but i am glad that Black is doing this for us!

      • Marielena
        May 18, 2013 at 10:47 am

        I totally agree with you! It’s better if they take their time instead of completing it too quickly just to have it in theaters. People are so quick to shut this movie down. Let’s stay positive, the director seems to know what he’s doing and he’s an actual fan of Death Note! He’s with us, not against us!

  8. animefan311
    July 28, 2012 at 1:16 am

    I can’t believe they’re gonna cast Depp as L! Don’t get me wrong…dude is a killer actor. But he’s too old to play L! L is 25 yrs old…Depp can’t pull that off with his leathery face. As for Zac Efron playing Light, it’s not totally impossible. People always say Light and Zac’s personalities are different…hey, thats why its called ACTING!

  9. nemmie
    July 31, 2012 at 1:34 am

    i am sure johnny can pull it off.. but i would rather see someone who resembles more to L’s character…But Johnny Depp is a legend so..meh….. im cool with Zack.. its time for him to get our of the “lover boy” character anyways…as for the japanese movies…:/ i didnt like them. they were good, i cried, but.. i would watch any of them movies again. i really want this Death Note remake to be really really really good :D i cant wait to see it ^^

  10. DeathNoteYaoi
    September 5, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Warner Bros has been wanting this for years. They didn’t have the rights for it, now I think they do. I read from serveral different sites, that Death Note is on it’s way in America. Also, Shane Black was hired just for it. I read that he knows what he’s dealing with here sort of thing. I wonder how would they make it seem, especially the scenes when Light and the rest of the task force go to The United States from Japan. *spoiler for those that didn’t continue after L’s death* Uhm, it would be weird, because they are going to go to some other country where Near might be.

  11. Alex
    September 11, 2012 at 9:38 am

    It should be Jared Leto from 30 Seconds to Mars….

  12. Steve
    October 16, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Idk I think either zac effron or drake bell as light deff johnny depp as L misa should be play by emma watson, shemar moore as aziuwa they voice of cgi ryuk should be the same guy that did his voice in the american version of the cartoon

    • Robohobojoe
      June 18, 2013 at 4:04 pm

      i sort of agree with you but if anything they should probably use costumes and makeup for the shinigami with johnny depp playing as ryuk, maybe ellen degeneres as rem, and robert downey jr. as soichiro yagami.

      • M
        February 13, 2014 at 1:09 pm

        ROFLMAOWTIME

  13. ImpassiveMoon
    October 28, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I Zac Efron is Light…I- that should not happen, ever, period. It’s like making Misa NOT be an obsessed fan girl, L an idiot, or Kira not being a psychopath with a God-complex. Things like this are unnatural. If this ends up being another High School based musical (with death now!) that he stars in… I can’t even, no threat encompasses the amount horror I fell or just how much I am disturbed. What’s next, according to what I’m finding Warner Bros. wanted to get rid of the Shinigami… Um hello movie company the fans called, they want the plot back. If you get rid of the Shinigami well. what makes Death Note, Death Note, what else but supernatural powers can give a notebook that can kill anyone if the wielder has enough information. AND I heard they wanted to make Light the good guy. The moral ambiguity of the whole series aside, well actually you can’t put that aside, that’s the whole plot. The question ‘Whose idea of justice is correct, L and later his successors or Kira’s?’ I’m just grateful that the director is looking out for fan’s interests. Hopefully this won’t be as bad as some adaptations of various things I’ve watched that turned out horribly. Avatar: Last Airbender and Eragon come to mind.

  14. L
    April 1, 2013 at 6:19 am

    Not really expecting all that much, however if it is good then this movie would make my entire year!!

  15. READMEMEMEME
    April 15, 2013 at 6:03 am

    BEN WHISHAW SHOULD PLAY L SPREAD THIS AROUND. BEN WHISHAW.

  16. Marielena
    May 18, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Let’s not assume this movie will be a disaster yet. The director is a great fan of the manga, and we all know the manga is more focused on the development of the characters and more elaborate than the anime. Have faith in this director, as a fan of the series he understands what his fellow otakus want. Warner Bros is known for great movies, too. As for casting, I think Ezra Miller would be perfect for the role of L. He’s handsome, young, unknown, and quirky. He has very similar characteristics of L. If you’ve seen We Need To Talk About Kevin, he can be sinister as well. I think he’s underrated, Ezra can transform well for being an unknown actor. I don’t want Johnny Depp near this movie, he’s so fucking overrated and way too old to play any of the characters. I dislike him as an actor, but that’s just my opinion.
    Just watch the director talk about Death Note and try to not doubt his abilities just yet!!

    List of people I DON’T WANT NEAR THIS MOVIE that are UNFORTUNATELY on other people’s “dream cast”lists:
    Ashton Kutcher
    Hillary Duff
    Ashley Tisdale
    Jennifer Lawrence
    Johnny Depp
    Helena Boham Carter
    Emma Watson
    Drake Bell
    Blake Lively
    Liam Neeson
    Adam Brody

    Those are all very fucking terrible choices.

    • Yumemi Miyamoto
      July 27, 2013 at 10:34 am

      I could not agree with you more

      • Rinrei
        April 19, 2014 at 11:22 pm

        Well I suppose it depends, for the most part. I would be interested in seeing Helena as, say, Rem because she pulls of the creepy roles pretty well. We just got to wait in suspense and see where it goes.

  17. Steve
    May 25, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    One of the things im sure of they’ll make the Yostaba group a gang within L.A. leaves more room for story on a featured film, also id like to see Shemar Moore as an actor that plays on of the members on the Task Force hes proven himself on criminal minds as Agent Morgan

  18. CJ
    June 4, 2013 at 9:33 am

    This is going to be a repeate of the mess that was the American Dragon Ball Z movie, Can america just NOT do this. They always wanna make an american adaptation and RUIN it.

    • Steve
      June 4, 2013 at 9:50 am

      You fucking dumbass dont go blaming America they are the kings of movies a movie is only as good as the director and if I recall the db evolution movie was directed by an asian director and the ruined all attemps to make db a live action movie plus the series was to large Deathnote is easier to work with plus Shanr Black is directing it and he Did wonders with Ironman. So stop being ignorant fool

  19. June 24, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    this is death note not dbz,how hard can that be? you just cast teenage actors to play teenagers.i dubt the girl who will play mina will be as anoyying as the anime counterpart.

  20. May
    July 6, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    I’m excited for this. I trust the director on this one. Yeah, it can be a risk but most movies are. I just want to see who they cast!! The right actors can make a world of difference. Also, comparing Death Note to DBZ doesn’t really help seeing as they’re two completely different plots that acquired separate attention and alterations. I’m just curious about those who know little or none about the manga/anime. They’d probably think this is just another horror movie or something. Furthermore, it’s not about America or Japan or whose making the movie. It’s more about HOW the film is adapted, storyline wise. Anyway, Death Note has the potential to be a really great movie!!! It’s gonna take some work. If the action, mystery, & tension aspects can be shown clearly along with a genuine portrayl of the characters and moral lessons, it’ll be worth seeing. Guess we’ll have to wait until 2014 to watch the final cut ^_^.

    • M
      July 6, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      I’m thinking the exact same thing! I’m excited for the movie although there can be possible risks. I mean I guess a lot of people are thinking it’s going to be bad or whatever. Personally, I believe Death Note has the potential to be very good. I read somewhere one time though that like they (the production staff people) are drawing experience from Grim Reapers and other monsters for the Shinigami. As in Japan, their folklore consists of Shinigamis but American legends don’t have that. I find it really interesting that Zac Efron is in the line up for Light Yagami. Don’t get me wrong, I love Zac. But although he looks like Light, is he really going to portray the infamous Kira? There was this video on YouTube in which Zac said he loves Death Note. What do you think about that potential casting choice?

  21. May
    July 6, 2013 at 3:50 pm

    What do I think about Zac Efron as Light? Well, it’s certainly an interesting pick, to say the least. Actually, I was really excited about it. I haven’t seen Zac in many horror/mystery/criminal dramas. It would be nice to see him in this type of role. Suree he looks like Light but what would it be like if he was actually Light? I’m like dying to find out who plays Light. Haha. Zac Efron is an actor after all so I’m sure he can do it. I suppose some people would rather not have Zac as Light since Zac Efron is known well for HSM. But he’s growing as an actor. The Disney days are behind him, pretty much I guess. On another note, I also heard that the movie committee is trying to draw influence from Grim Reapers for the Shinigami. I’m curious to see how the portrayl of Ryuk (and maybe Rem too) will be carried out. And of course, there’s L and Misa. Can’t forget about them. I feel that the chemistry between Light, L, and Misa plays a major part in the overall mood of the movie. It may bring upon some pressure to get those actors right. Hopefully, it’ll be done well. Overall, I’m excited to see Death Note. It’s such a great manga and anime series. Not much official info about the film has been released, or atleast I can’t find it. I want to see the trailer so bad though!!! Fans are probably really anxious as well. This movie has potential! Fingers crossed:)

    • M
      July 6, 2013 at 3:59 pm

      You are absoulutelyyy rightttt!!!! Zac Efron is growing in the acting world. He should get his chance to do this kind of production. He can pull it off:) I just don’t want to give my hopes up for this. Right now, I’m not expecting the best of movies but you know what they say: hope for the best but expect the worst. Well, that’s what I’m doing. I think they’re trying to find like this all star cast for Death Note, like you know how they did in Avengers. And that would be pretty cool. Having too many actors/ actresses from Disney probably isn’t the best idea in this case. I don’t know. That’s just me. Honestly, it must be tough to make an anime into a live action movie. There’s a lot that goes into the production. The Death Note movie process has been long. But hey, they said 2014!!! That’s not that farrr awayyy:D I’m guessing summer 2014 probably. I bet it will be great. Death Note is FANTASTIC!!!

  22. Freya
    July 14, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Just because a movie is American doesn’t mean it’s going to automatically suck. It’s not the country of origin, it’s the director and those involved in making the film.
    The Japanese film version of the series was, quite honestly, bad. The CGI was poor, and the plot wasn’t followed very closely. Some scenes, such as the bus jacking, was laughable at best. Even the physical death note itself was a poorly constructed prop…it looked like it was made of construction paper and staples were clearly visible.
    The director, Shane Black, is a fan of the anime, and who better to direct a Death Note movie than a fan of the anime? He’s a great director from what I’ve heard, being credited with writing the script of Iron Man 3, only one of his many achievements. I’m very excited to see what comes of this, and I hope it all turns out well.

  23. Yumemi Miyamoto
    July 27, 2013 at 10:31 am

    I don’t see a problem with Efron as Light, due to the fact Efron looks just like Light himself. I think he has potential and it would be interesting to see him portray a darker side of himself. As for Depp, we all know he’s a phenomenal actor who can play almost any role. But not L. I think he’s just too old. He’s in his 50’s and L is in his 20’s. It would be difficult to pull off. Personally I would like to see Ezra Miller as L. He fits the age and appearance, plus I think his acting abilities come close to Depp’s level. Aside from the cast, if the writers stay true to the plot I think this could be a success.

  24. Yumemi Miyamoto
    July 27, 2013 at 10:40 am

    I’m also incredibly grateful, from the bottom of my fucking heart, that Shane is fighting plot changes. To many movies based off of books, animes, ad mangas have been ruined because the plot was dramatically changed and the fans were outraged. The same thug would happen if they changed Death Note. It wouldn’t have the same emotional impact and questioning of morals. Thank god for Shane Black.

  25. fianna2452
    August 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    I’m really sincerely hoping that they do not do any of the plot changes I’ve heard. The overall theme of Death Note is morality. Who is Justice, Kira or L? They can’t just make Light’s cause into one of vengeance instead of justice. That just ruins the whole plot. And they cannot get rid of the Shinigami. Maybe make them more human looking rather than monster-like. But I stronly oppose any plot changes Props to Shane Black for opposing the changes, hope it stays that way.

  26. S
    August 21, 2013 at 8:30 am

    I think that the movie is a good idea. Just cast Crit1kal as the voice acting for Ryuk. That seems like a good idea.

  27. October 6, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Based from a graphic novel and anime/manga series about a former college student turned mentalist/crime fighter was born in Tokyo Japan raised in Chicago was Light Yagami(David Eccleston) and his friend Lucky Louie(Louis Paulson)as his side battles serial killers terrorists extremists saboteurs and other enemies to save the world protect the innocent to keep law and order and keep the peace . Filming is under way by the spring of 2014 to be shot in Chicago New York
    Toronto Hongkong Shanghai Tokyo
    Kuala Lumpur Manila and other cities in other countries to be set all the filming of a suspense/mystery/scifi/action/saga adventure/drama/espionage/drama based from a anime/manga/comicbook series of 2003 also in various sequels and spinoffs of the anime series
    The filming will be completed and to be shown next year by Warner Bros Pictures/New Line Cinema in 2014 coming soon.thanks for the information.From:Wayne

    • nemmie
      October 6, 2013 at 9:50 pm

      ^Are you fucking kidding me???!

    • fianna2452
      November 3, 2013 at 11:11 am

      Lucky Louie? I object.

  28. lol
    October 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    I was planning on watching it anyway, no matter how bad it would be, because it gives me a reason to go otaku all in the movie theater. But now they are trying to make Light a GOOD guy and TAKE OUT Ryuk all together. They are really pushing it, but allas! My love for Death Note goes deeper than one shit-headed movie. I will still watch it, even if they cast Miley Cyrus as Misa and Zac Efron as Light and Johnny Depp as L (as rumors have it). The only real problem I have is that the movie ends up really bad and it gives people a bad impression of Japanese stories. If that happens, I will never forgive America.

  29. Emilee
    December 1, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Personally, I think Depp may be a bit old for this part. I am part of the younger audience, and a few years ago, I watched Degrassi. I think Munro Chambers would be great for the role of L. Not only is he good at acting, he is good at keeping a straight yet mysterious face and he is overall how I would imagine L if he was in highschool, well, the character he plays in Degrassi is, and he was great at acting in that.

    • mister steal your heichou
      December 4, 2013 at 4:15 pm

      YAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!! MUNRO CHAMBERS FOR THE WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  30. M
    February 13, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    Depp as L ? dafuq!! too old………………………

  31. M
    February 13, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    you know who resembles L? its the guy from twilight, edward he’s perfect he resembles L

    • February 28, 2014 at 1:53 pm

      Rob can’t act shit though LOLZ the point is having actors that ACT their characters, not look their characters. I wouldn’t give a shit if Johnny Depp doesn’t look like L, he can act xP

  32. Rinrei
    April 19, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    I personally think that we should not judge so early. Zac Efron is a decent actor in my personal opinion and I think that, while it contrasts with his ordinary roles, he could make a pretty good Light. I’m more intrigued as to who will actually get the role of L (I’ve heard far too many rumours at this point) and how close to the plot the movie will be. I’m wondering if they’ll only do the first half of the series, or whether they’ll attempt both halves. Either way, I look forward to hearing more about the movie; it’ll certainly be interesting.

  1. February 6, 2012 at 3:08 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

